A bit aboooot my run comuuute!

I’ve done a couple run commutes since I started my new Big Girl Job in August, and some people on my running forum were curious about it, so I thought I’d do a blog post about why I run to/from work and what I do to make it work. So onward!

Why I Run Commute
The first time I ran to and from work, it was out of necessity. I moved into a new place August 31/Sept 1, but since my lease didn’t start until Sept 1, I couldn’t get my parking permit until that day, so I had nowhere to park my car on August 31. So I parked my car at work, ran home from the office, and then ran back to work the next morning.

I decided to do another run commute this week (Wednesday night work to home, Thursday morning home to work) because it was a convenient way to get my doubles in. I’ve just started my marathon training again now that my calf is A-OK, which means doubles on Wednesday and doubles on Thursday. Running home from work means I get my run in a little earlier, because I don’t have to drive home, prep and head out. And running to work on Thursday nets me a little extra sleep because I don’t have to shower and drive to work after the run. Convenient!

My office is “only” 4-4.5 miles from my house, and there’s sidewalks the entire way, so it’s a safe and easy route to add into my routine. There’s no reason for me NOT to do it!

img_4745
Plus my commute route is really pretty. Just a perk!

How I Prepare to Run Commute
I don’t have a running backpack or anything, so my run commute takes quite a bit of planning ahead. Usually early in the week (Sunday or Monday), I make a large meal that I take into work through the week for lunches. This week, I’d made a crockpot of chili, so on Wednesday I brought two lunches to work, ate one on Wednesday, and kept the other for Thursday in the work fridge. I like to eat my chili with scoop chips, so I kept a bag of them at my desk at work. I also tend to eat breakfast at work, so I have a drawer at my desk filled with flavored almonds and dried fruit which I snack on through the morning, so no need to bring breakfast on my commute!

img_4767

Above are the essentials of my run commute (with a few essentials missing because they were too essential for the picture). As you can see, I’ve got a running outfit for running from the office to home: shorts, bra, shirt, shoes, socks, my Garmin. Then I’ve got a work outfit for post-run: jeans, moccs, bra, shirt. I leave that outfit at work overnight to change into in the morning. These are pretty simple.

Then I’ve got a small towel to dry off before heading to the bathroom to freshen up when I get in. I take with me the little pouch in the lower right-hand corner, dry shampoo, a hair dryer (not pictured), deodorant (not pictured), and Nathan shower wipes (also not pictured; they live in my desk at work). In my little work pouch, which I stuff in my bag every day, I have chap stick, eye liner, mascara, hair ties, bobby pins, among other things like ibuprofen, bandaids, floss… anything I could possibly need, basically.

In the work bathrom, I get into a handicap stall and wipe down with the shower wipes (I got a pack of 15 for $4.99 at my local running store) and change into the fresh clothes. Then I blow-dry my sweaty hair, use some dry shampoo, put on makeup and deodorant, and put my hair up. Then bam! Ready to work!

img_4747

When I run to and from work, I have to wear my Oiselle distance shorts. I love my stride shorts, but they don’t have big enough pockets. When I go to/from the office, I need to bring my car/house keys, my ID and a credit card, and my phone. All those fit in the distance short pockets no problem. Above is the commute outfit I wore from home to work on Thursday morning… looking pretty good!

img_4754
View from the morning commute.

Do you run to or from work? What are your essentials?

Leave a Reply

